Known as the world’s most breathtaking safari destination, Tanzania is a country of incredible natural beauty with a fantastic range of landscapes and attractions. It is home to the world famous Mount Kilimanjaro, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Selous Game Reserve and Serengeti National Park and is exceptionally rich in wildlife and not to forget the worldwide unique nature phenomenon – the great migration.

ZanTours being the leading DMC on Zanzibar is able to provide safaris to all National Parks and Game Reserves in Tanzania through its sister company ZanAir. Most National Parks have airstrips that accommodate small planes hence making them easily accessible from Zanzibar. There are scheduled flights to Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Serengeti National Park, Ruaha National Park and Selous Game Reserve – just to mention a few.



Tarangire National Park is the sixth largest national park in Tanzania covering 2,850 square kilometres. The name Tarangire originates from the Tarangire River which flows through the park and is the only source of water for animals during the dry season. It is located in Northern Tanzania in the Manyara Region. It is famous for having many elephants, baobab trees, as well as the rare tree climbing lions. The Park is also home to over 500 bird species and other animals such as the olive baboons, giraffes, zebras, wildebeests, the dwarf mongoose and many other wild animals. In 2015, a giraffe that is white due to albinism was spotted in the park. The park is also famous for the big termite mounds that can be seen all over the park. Tarangire National Park can be reached by car from Arusha in about 2 hours.

Tanzania Map – Tarangire


Tanzania Map – Manyara

Lake Manyara National Park is located both in Arusha Region and Manyara Region – in Northern Tanzania. The majority of the land area of the park is a narrow strip running between the Gregory Rift wall to the west and Lake Manyara, an alkaline or soda-lake, to the east. The park covers 330 square kilometres of land and the lake covers 200 square kilometres. It is mostly famous for the lake which is home to the pink flamingos which can be seen in flocks of thousands during the wet season. The park also inhabits over 400 birds species throughout the year and other animals that can be seen are leopards, Maasai lions, cheetahs, elephants, blue monkeys, dik-dik, gazelles, hippopotami, Maasai giraffes, impalas, zebras and many others. The park can be accessed by road from Arusha or by plane.



A Conservation Area, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the Seven Natural Wonders of  Africa, Ngorongoro Conservation Area is located 180 kilometres west of Arusha. The area is named after Ngorongoro Crater, a large volcanic caldera within the area. Ngorongoro Crater is mostly famous for being the world’s largest, inactive, intact and unfilled volcanic caldera. The crater is 610 metres deep and its floor covers 260 square kilometres. It is also a unique attraction because it is the only conservation area in Tanzania that protects wildlife while allowing human habitation. Ngorongoro is home to more than 30,000 animals including the rare black rhinos, zebras, hyenas, lions, cheetahs, gazelles, wildebeests, buffaloes, hippopotami, East African wild dogs, leopards and many more animals including over 500 birds species. The Ngorongoro Conservation Area also protects Olduvai Gorge, situated in the plains area. It is considered to be the seat of humanity after the discovery of the earliest known specimens of the human genus, Homo habilis as well as early hominidae, such as Paranthropus boisei. It is one of the most important prehistoric sites in the world and research there has been instrumental in furthering understanding of early human evolution. Ngorongoro can be accessed by plane and by car from Arusha in about 3 hours.

Tanzania Map – Ngorongoro


Tanzania Map – Serengeti

Serengeti is located in north-western Tanzania, bordered to the north by the Kenyan border and to the southeast by the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, covering 14,750 square kilometres of grassland plains, savannah, riverine forest, and woodlands – making it the largest national park in the Northern Circuit of Tanzania. It is famous for its annual migration of over 1.5 million white bearded wildebeest (Gnu) and 250,000 zebra, for its numerous Nile crocodiles and honey badgers. Serengeti is also known for having the largest population of lions in Africa and for its resident wildlife – particularly the ‘Big Five’: lions, leopards, elephants, rhinoceroses and buffaloes. The park is also home to Thomson’s and Grant’s gazelles, wildebeests, topis, elands, waterbucks, spotted hyenas, striped hyenas, baboons, impala, East African wild dogs, Maasai giraffes and many other wild animals.  It also boasts about 500 bird species, including ostriches, secretary birds, crowned cranes, and many species of vultures. Serengeti can be reached by plane from Arusha in around 40 minutes or by car from Arusha which takes around 7-8 hours or from Ngorongoro – about 2-3 hours.



Located in Central Tanzania, it is the largest national park in Tanzania covering 20,226 square kilometres. The name of the Park is derived from the Great Ruaha River which flows along the south-eastern margins and is a very famous game-viewing spot. The park is home to a large elephant population and over 500 bird species. Other animals that can be seen are cheetahs, leopards, lions, African wild dogs, giraffes, hippopotami, Cape buffaloes, sable antelopes and many other wild animals. Ruaha can be reached by car on a dirt road from Iringa in approximately 2 hours and by plane from Selous or Arusha.

Tanzania Map – Ruaha


Tanzania Map – Selous

Located in the South of Tanzania, Selous Game Reserve is the largest game reserve in Tanzania – and one of the largest animal reserves in the world – covering a total of 54,600 square kilometres. It was named after Englishman Sir Frederick Selous, a famous big game hunter and early conservationist, who died at Beho Beho in this territory in 1917 while fighting against the Germans during World War I. It was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1982 due to its diverse wildlife and undisturbed nature. Elephants, hippopotami, Maasai lions, East African wild dogs, cheetahs, Cape buffaloes, Maasai giraffes and crocodiles can be found in this park in larger numbers than in any other African game reserve or national park. Although total wildlife populations are high, the reserve is large and densities of animals are lower than in the more regularly visited northern tourist circuit of Tanzania. Interesting places in the park include the Rufiji River, which flows into the Indian Ocean opposite Mafia Island and the Stiegler Gorge, a canyon of 100 metres depth and 100 metres width. Selous is most easily accessible by plane from Zanzibar or Arusha.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search